Working Group For 2018 Youth Games Announced

Jacques Rogge, President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced Tuesday the composition of the Working Group which will assess the six candidates for the 2018 Youth Summer Olympic Games.

The six candidate cities are Buenos Aires, Glasgow, Guadalajara, Medellin, Poznan and Rotterdam.

The working group will be chaired by Olympic silver medallist and world champion fencer Claudia Bokel, an IOC member and chairperson of the IOC Athletes’ Commission.

Other members include Guido de Bondt, Secretary General, Belgian NOC; Andrew Ryan, representing International Federations, Director ASOIF; athlete representative Yumilka Ruiz Luaces, an IOC and Athletes’ Commission member who is an Olympic volleyball champion; and Gilbert Felli, Olympic Games Executive Director.

The group will analyze each city’s candidature file, which will be received by the IOC at the October 15 deadline, and will then submit a report to the IOC Executive Board. The board will then identify which of the six candidate cities will be shortlisted for further evaluation at its meeting in Lausanne February 12 and 13, 2013.

Following further assessment and video conferences with each shortlisted candidate city, a report will be submitted to the IOC members who will then elect the host city for the 2018 Youth Games at their meeting in Lausanne, Switzerland on July 4, 2013.