IOC Appoints 2012 Youth Games Evaluation Chair

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced Tuesday the appointment of Pernilla Wiberg, IOC member and IOC Athletes’ Commission member, as the chairman of a seven-member Evaluation Commission to assess the projects put forward for the 1st Winter Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in 2012.

The four Candidate Cities shortlisted are Harbin, Innsbruck, Austria, Kuopio and Lillehammer.

As part of the candidature procedure the Candidate Cities will present their bids to the Evaluation Commission in September through a one-hour video conference call, which will be in two parts – a 15-20 minute verbal presentation by the city to present its bid, followed by a question and answer period.

The Evaluation Commission will submit a report to the IOC Executive Board and on the basis of the report the board will decide which shortlisted city will be selected to be submitted to a postal vote by all IOC members.

The host city for the 1st Winter Youth Olympic Games will take place in December 2008.