Olympians Highlight Calgary 2026 Board of Directors

Three Canadian members of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) are among 16 who were named Wednesday to the Calgary 2026 Olympic Winter Games bid’s Board of Directors.

Canadian Olympic Committee President Tricia Smith named to Calgary 2026 Board of Directors (GamesBids Photo)

The longest serving IOC member Dick Pound is joined by hockey legend and six-time Olympian Hayley Wickenheiser, who also serves on the IOC’s Athletes’ Commission, and Olympic rowing medalist and Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) President Tricia Smith to help oversee Calgary’s bid to host its second Games.  Three-time Olympic medalist speed skater Catriona Le May Doan is the fourth notable athlete to be named to the Board.

Calgary 2026 Chair Scott Hutcheson said “The Calgary 2026 Board of Directors announced today is a podium-worthy group of women and men who share an incredibly deep commitment to Canada, a passion for sport and recreation, and a strong connection with the needs of the communities they come from across the country.

“We have much work ahead of us to complete this phase of the bid, but I know this is the group of professionals who will get the job done. I relish the opportunity to work with the entire board to ensure the Olympic and Paralympic legacy will continue to positively impact all Canadians for generations to come.

“Hayley, Catriona and Dick are simply legends in the Olympic and Paralympic movement, and are remarkably well respected by all Canadians.”

Canadian Olympic Committee Approves Calgary 2026 Olympic Winter Games Bid

Calgary’s bid faces several hurdles ahead as it begins a public consultation process.  In October the IOC will choose qualified bids from those cities that have already filed letters of interest, and Calgary will face a city-wide plebiscite, likely in November.  City council has yet to sign off on the estimated CAN $4.6 billion (USD $3.47 billion) project that has already received preliminary approval from the provincial and federal governments.

“I am grateful to have the opportunity, and the trust of Scott and the Board of Directors, to take on this prestigious position,” Wickenheiser, who will serve as the Board’s Vice Chair, said.

“I competed in a home Games in 2010, and I want the Olympics back in Canada. There is so much involved in a bid, and I am honoured to have the opportunity to work with these great Canadians, and the Calgary community, to ensure its viability.”

Also named to the Board was COC CEO Chirs Overholt, Calgary Brewery entrepreneur and “Dragons’ Den” reality television personality Manjit Minhas, and Calgary City Manager Jeff Fielding (full list below).

Four more members to be named in the upcoming days are expected to round out the 21-member Board.  A CEO is also due to be hired.

The IOC will elect the winning city in September 2019.

The following is a list of the Calgary 2026 Board of Directors (Source: Calgary 2026):

Chair At Large – Vice-Chair

Scott Hutcheson, Hayley Wickenheiser

Government of Canada, Government of Alberta

Catriona Le May Doan, Meryl Whittaker, Grand Chief Wilton Littlechild, Ray Gilmour

One more Director to be named

Corey Hogan

City of Calgary Town of Canmore

Jeff Fielding, Lisa de Soto, Manjit Minhas, Chris Lee

Canadian Olympic Committee Canadian Paralympic Committee

Tricia Smith, Marc-André Fabien, Chris Overholt, Dick Pound

At Large

Jude Daniels

scroll to top
%d bloggers like this: