Beckers and Baumann Appointed Coordination Commission Chairs For Paris 2024 and LA 2028

Pierre-Olivier Beckers-Vieujant of Belgium on Monday was appointed by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as Chair of the Paris 2024 Coordination Commission.  At the same time Patrick Baumann of Switzerland was named Chair of the Los Angeles 2028 Coordination Commission.

IOC 2024 Evaluation Commission Chair Patrick Baumann speaks in Los Angeles (GamesBids Photo)

IOC 2024/2028 Evaluation Commission Chair Patrick Baumann speaks in Los Angeles.  He will Chair the LA 2028 Coordination Commission (GamesBids Photo)

The pair will oversee the organization of the next two Summer Olympic and Paralympic Games following Tokyo 2020  after both Paris and Los Angeles were elected simultaneously during a Session in Lima, Peru in September.

57-year-old Beckers-Vieujant is President of the Belgian National Olympic Committee (COIB) and will lead a commission composed of IOC Members and representatives of Olympic Movement stakeholders, including athletes, National Olympic Committees and International Federations. He was elected as as an IOC Member in 2012 and is  Chair of the IOC Audit Committee and a member of the IOC Finance and Ethics commissions.

Several members of the 2024 and 2028 Evaluation Commissions will continue as members of the 2024 Coordination Commission ensuring efficient knowledge transfer moving forward.  The first visit of the IOC Coordination Commission Paris 2024 to the French Capital is scheduled for mid-2018.

(Source: IOC)

The composition of the IOC Coordination Commission 2024 is as follows:


Baron Pierre-Olivier BECKERS-VIEUJANT (BEL)


Mr Patrick BAUMANN (SUI)

International Olympic Committee

Mrs Dagmawit Girmay BERHANE (ETH)

Mrs Marisol CASADO (ESP)


HRH Crown Prince Frederik of DENMARK (DEN)

Prof. Ugur ERDENER (TUR)



Mrs Lingwei LI (CHN)

Mrs Gunilla LINDBERG (SWE)


International Federations

Mr Francesco RICCI BITTI (ITA)

National Olympic Committees


IOC Athletes’ Commission



Mr Duane KALE (NZL)

The composition of the IOC Coordination Commission 2028 is as follows:


Mr Patrick BAUMANN (SUI)

The members of the IOC Coordination Commission 2028 will be announced at a later stage.

Patrick Baumann will be Vice-Chair of the 2024 Coordination Commission along with his role as Chair for the 2028 Commission, helping create positive synergies between the two cities organizing the Games.  The 50-year-old Swiss led the 2024 and 2028 Evaluation Commissions and is President of the Global Association of International Sports Federations.

The members of the 2028 Commission have yet to be appointed, and according to the IOC will be named later in the process.  Due to the double-allocation, Los Angeles has an unprecedented 11-years to prepare the Games.

“The LA 2028 team developed an excellent working relationship with Patrick Baumann when he served as chairman of the IOC evaluation commission during our bid and we are excited to continue our collaboration in his new role as chairman of the coordination commission,” LA 2028 Chair Casey Wasserman said Monday.

“Chairman Baumann understands our vision for a New Games for a New Era, and as we begin work to turn our vision into reality, he will be a valuable partner, sounding board and mentor for our organizing committee.”

About Robert Livingstone

A senior producer and award-winning journalist covering Olympic bid business as founder of as well as providing freelance support for print and Web publications around the world. Robert Livingstone is a member of the Olympic Journalists Association and the International Society of Olympic Historians.